This is one of my favorite recipes. I just made it up myself by putting things together that I enjoy eating. I am able to make a huge portion that will last me about two days.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package bow tie pasta (whole grain is the best choice)
  • pine nuts
  • 1 package baby spinach
  • feta cheese
  • Olive oil
  • 2 chicken breasts

Directions:

First turn your oven on to bake the chicken breasts to 200 Celsius. I like to add some black pepper, a little salt, and oregano with a light sprinkle of olive oil to my chicken. I place the chicken inside tin foil and place it in a pan so I don’t make a mess and it keeps the chicken nice and juicy. In the mean time fill a large pot with water. Boil the entire bag of pasta. While waiting for the water to boil (depending on the quality of your stove this could take anywhere from 5 minutes to 1/2 an hour. Try cooking on a 2 plate burner for over a year…not so much fun) heat up a pan with just a bit of olive oil and lightly toast the pine nuts. When the noodles are done boiling drain the water and run the pasta under cold water so that they don’t all stick together. By now the chicken should be done (20-30 minutes). When you cut into the chicken you should not see any pink. It is important to make sure that chicken is cooked all the way through. Cut the chicken into small pieces, later to be added to the salad. Once the noodles have cooled down add the bag of raw baby spinach, feta cheese, pine nuts, and chicken. Toss it all together. I do not add extra olive oil until I am about to eat a helping of the pasta. Everyone has a personal preference to how much they like. Also, since I use the dish for about 4-6 meals it helps keep it fresher by keeping as much moisture off of the spinach leaves.

This is a great quick and easy recipe for people on the go. Just put a portion in a container and pack it in your bag for an afternoon snack or for lunch. Great boost of energy.
Enjoy!

Chef Megan

