I need less dairy products in my diet, but more calories. I don’t want to just sit and eat all day long, so I am trying to come up with new things that replace my energy (calories) in different forms than solid foods. I grew up in a family who loved making smoothies. Our smoothies were always the juice, yogurt, and frozen berry kind that taste absolutely delicious. While that is great and “healthy” to some extends, I wanted to find out how to get more out of my daily smoothie experience. With some inspiration from my juice happy mother and a great book called “High on Smoothies” I created my own recipe.

You don’t need a big fancy blender. I only have one of those cheap hand blenders and this circular measuring flask that it fits down inside and it works perfectly. I am sure if I had a high end quality upright blender I would love it, but since I don’t know any differently I will keep going with what I have. The bonus is it is SO easy to wash after I am done.

The recipe:

  1. Almond Milk
  2. Lots of fresh baby spinach (by lots I mean 1/4 to 1/2 of a package)
  3. 1/2 an avocado (the food that contains the most nutrients! Good natural fats and oils. Don’t be afraid of them!)
  4. some fresh ginger (a very small amount as the taste can really overpower everything else. So add as much as you have preference for)
  5. 1 tablespoon Olive Oil (It is important that our bodies take in natural fats and oils such as cold pressed olive oil. Always go for the quality of the oil. I just switched to doing this and notice a huge difference!)
  6. Handful of frozen berries (I usually use strawberries and blueberries)

I don’t measure anything. My advice is to experiment and see what you like best. If you want a more fluid smoothie than you can always add more almond milk. If you make it too runny in the beginning throw in an extra handful of frozen berries or 1/2 a banana and it will thicken up. Don’t expect a BIG explosion of taste when you try this recipe, but do expect that it isn’t a bad taste whatsoever and you will feel full and energized after! I have 1 or 2 of these a day. For breakfast I add two fried eggs over-easy friend in quality olive oil to the menu and fresh baked ciabatta bread from the bakery next door when time allows!

Happy smoothie making!

Cheers.

Smoothie Queen

