Apparently this week is Winter Vacation where I live. Awesome. No school. Oh wait, I only go to school for about 4 hours a week, usually even less than that because I can’t get myself to go half the time.(I am talking about language school by the way)

There is a very big plus side to winter vacation. I don’t have to be up early in the freezing cold to go train the school girls. As much as I love their attitudes in the early mornings, I am going to enjoy this week to its fullest.

We have also had the last 4 days free from practice. It is always nice to have full free days, but I don’t feel like now is a good time for me to be having free from practice. I am starting to feel good and fit again. Usually after so many free days, even with going to the gym, the first couple days back are always hard for me. Hopefully tomorrow night goes well.

My trip to Ikea was successful. I bought a new Orchid, since both of mine totally died while I was home for Christmas. Now the “dead” ones are cut back and will hopefully bloom again after some months. I had this happen to me last summer and they came back beautifully. I just don’t have a good place to store the ugliness while waiting for them to come back into bloom. My new plant is great 🙂 If you live in Denmark, then you have to have an Orchid. Since I am trying to integrate myself, I bought one. Also, as a part of my integration process, I bought some nice candles. Generally, you find non-scented candles at all the stores, but I discovered these incredible scented candles at Ikea last year and have been waiting for this weekend so my house can smell good again.

After Ikea we made our way into the center of the city. I will give myself a pat on the back here because I got us from outside of the city into the center without taking the freeway. I am thankful for my sense of direction. I know now that after patting myself on the back, that my next time out trying to find my way around I am going to get lost. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am considering buying a car. This would be the only one I could afford. Maybe I’ll hold out.

Sunday was just another funny day of a first time experience. Let me first say that while growing up in the States I was a big time fan of the NBA, specifically the Chicago Bulls when it was Michael Jordan, Scotti Pippen, and Dennis Rodman. My family went quite a few times to watch the Seattle Super Sonics at the Key Arena, so I have very good, clear memories of what an NBA game is like. Well, yesterday I went and saw the Danish version of the NBA. What a joke. I couldn’t stop laughing at all the small things that went on during the game.

First, when they were introducing the players to the 100 person crowd, they dimmed the lights and turned on the spot lights. The players ran out one at a time to a familiar “fight” song like back home. Then, all during the game the classic gameday sounds were played. The problem here is that nobody knows when you should say things like “Charge” and clap and say defense. They tried, but it just wasn’t the same. Nonetheless I enjoyed the day. The game was a bit slow and boring, but at least they won and kept it mildly exciting. Am I contradicting myself? Who knows, maybe this is how people feel when they come and watch women’s soccer. I don’t know. You tell me.

I am also in the process of creating another page within this blog that you can click on to find updates and news about what I am up to solely dealing with soccer. I was requested by a friend to do this since our homepage for the club is in Danish and a bit difficult to navigate if you don’t know the language. We don’t start our season play until March 27. Luckily that gives me plenty of time to figure out what I am going to do. Until then, we are playing a lot of practice games and will be heading to Turkey in a few weeks for a tournament. We will meet Sky Blues from New York and another team from Russia. More on that later.

Another thing from the weekend. We attempted to go sledding with a $2.oo blow up inner tube. On the first run the tube busted after running over a huge branch.Instead, we started “snowboarding.”

 

Only a minor issue. We still had a good time.

