I came across this website which I found had a great brief description about Denmark and how the country it is situated in terms of landmass, nature conservation, etc. I have traveled a great deal throughout the country since coming here in August because of soccer. Unfortunately most of this travel is via Fortuna’s bus, restricting me to views from the highway, and sets me down at the entrance to all the soccer clubs in the country! I usually don’t know where I am or where exactly we are going. Because we are from the North Jutland, pretty much the northern most part of Denmark, our bus trips are anywhere from 2 hours to 5 hours. We have 2 teams from Copenhagen area in our league which is the farthest away, but fortunately we are able to fly to these games. Yesterday we flew from Aalborg to Copenhagen leaving at 11am, playing at 2, and then departing at 7pm and making it home by 8:30. I was so thankful to not have to sit on the bus the entire day.

Today I have the privilege of riding on the bus for 5 hours to reach Esbjerg. You can see the distance on the map I am inserting. Look for Hjorring in the very northern part and you’ll find Esbjerg on the south west part of the country on the coast line. denmark-mapI am assuming it is close to the German border, then again I really don’t know where I am now. I am ecstatic because I discovered the power strip on the bus, and with my mobilt bredband (mobile broadband) I am able to have an internet connection the entire way. It gives me lots of time to just relax, listen to music, read, write, and pretty much do anything I would normally do  sitting in my apartment.

I am really looking forward to playing today! Albeit it is pretty cold outside, the sun is shining and I am filled with Joy to be given another day to play the game I love.

(ok so I realize it is a little difficult to read the names of the cities so I’ll explain better what you are looking at. Take your eyes to the north. The name at the very top reads Hjorring. Then follows down the country along the west coast until you see the words North Sea. Go to the right and ever so slighty up. The dot and unreadable city is Esbjerg. I’m glad I’ve figured out where I am going at least)

Whenever we have long road trips like this we always stop at the highest point in Denmark which is about 2 hours from where we start out. There is a gas station, rest area, and low and behold a 7-Eleven! This is the place where I can find all the great American junk food. Today I found, but didn’t buy because the prices are absurd, Beef Jerkey, Reeses, magazines, and 3 dollar candy bars! It is fun just seeing familiar things and watching as the Danes look in wonder at what this stuff is. Today my teammates claimed to have never had a reeses peanut butter cup. They also don’t eat peanut butter here like we do back in the States, so it is understandable. They thought the combination of chocolate and peanut butter sounded repulsive.

There will probably be more updates throughout the day today because I have the time to put down what’s going through my head. Hope you are enjoying the updates, learning about Denmark, the life of a soccer player, and anything else that I am writing about!

