Today I had my first start of my career playing for Fortuna as left back. I was quite shocked when I went into the pre-game meeting and saw my name on the board. The opportunity was exciting, I felt a little bit of pressure, but tried to push through it. I have been battling with some pain in my hip flexor the past few days so I was concerned with how I was going to feel while on the field playing full speed. I ended up assisting our first goal to tie the game 1-1 off of a corner kick, but would quickly be subbed out of the game around the 30 minute mark. I knew I wasn’t playing very well and was kind of expecting the quick change out. I’m still thankful I had the opportunity to play today and it was a beautiful sunny day here, a bit chilly and windy, but it was good.

We were down 2-1 probably 60 minutes in and then we had a fantastic equalizer. Unfortunately not much happened after that.

It is difficult for me  adjusting to being a defender after playing up top so much the past couple years. I really miss being up front and look forward to the day I get to play there again! Another challenging part about playing over here in Denmark is the language. Yes, my teammates understand me when I speak english, but many times during the game things come out in Danish directed towards me and so I have no idea what they are telling me to do. Then I stop and wonder what is going on and then I am behind whatever is happening on the field and then downward spiral. It isn’t too bad, just difficult. This is definitely a great learning experience for me!

Our next match is Tuesday at 15:00 against Viborg in Viborg, which is about 2 hours south of where I live. So I guess we will see what that day brings.

